Today is a special day…

anniversary love

Exactly twenty years ago today, hubs and I crossed a roaring Bass Strait to Tasmania and eloped, got ourselves hitched. Some said I was too young to settle down. Some said I was absolutely crazy to choose not have a big lavish wedding – “Don’t you want THE fairy tale wedding? But it’s YOUR day! Isn’t it all you’ve ever dreamed about?” And others (namely, my ma) cried bucket loads of tears for missing the chance of seeing me walk down the aisle. But I had to do what I felt was right for me…and hubs, of course, let’s not forget about him.

I’ve always walked to the beat of my own drum and didn’t see why this occasion should be any different. In fact, if ever I was going to make a stand, surely my wedding should be at the top of the list. Right?

Even on my twenty-first birthday, my official entry into adulthood, I chose to do my own thing instead of having the traditional piss-up party with hundreds of guests. Instead, I went to the office, like any other work day, arranging dinner for that night at a nice restaurant for me and my closest family. Nothing huge, nothing extravagant…just how I like it. Although, not much work got done that day. My boss and fellow coworkers decided to take it upon themselves to plaster me with whiskey all day, sending me home that afternoon in a cab. Bless ’em.

No, I’ve never dreamed of flowing white dresses or a horse and carriage. I’ve never fantasised about the release of a dozen heavenly doves as I exit a church filled with elaborate flowers. Yes, I was that girl. “Hell, I’m never getting married.” Ha! Famous last words.

So, why did I change my mind and elope? Well, I can tell you what I did dream about, and that was having a man who loved me, inside and out. A man who would stick by me, no matter what. A man I could laugh with. A man who would adore and care for me, till death do us part.

I found that man. I didn’t need anything else, just this quaint, little chapel, a minister, two witnesses (pilfered resort staff) and a photographer.

Multi 21 (3)

And twenty years later…here we are.

XOXO

Anniversary

15 comments on “Today is a special day…

  1. Angel Hawk says:

    Happy anniversary,hun! Wishing you many more! πŸ’‹

  2. StackedLikeSookie says:

    Happy Anniversary! What a romantic little church xxx

  3. Chris Kuhn says:

    It’s nice when two people find each other and none of that other bullshit of what everyone else expects matters. Just what they feel in their hearts. Sounds like a match made in heaven. Congrats. Now go enjoy yourselves for many more years together defying convention. Heh. πŸ˜‰ xx ~ your aries sistah chris

  4. Love this!! Beautiful and very true!

  5. Happy Anniversary to Paige and hubby. Have a fabulous day, here’s to many more years to come!

  6. Paige Thomas says:

    We had a fabulous day, thank you, Cam!

  7. Anna Sky says:

    Happy Anniversary x

  8. Mags says:

    Awwww sweet & good for you!

  9. doasisayrobert says:

    A thousand congratulations to you on all your hard work well done. Namely, that is the key to long term success with love. Lots of wonderful people out there, but making it last is real work and worth it, of course!

  10. debradml says:

    What a beautiful story Hun, congratulations! xox

Leave a Reply

