Who is this Valentine?

Image

Note: Originally posted on Thursday, February 14, 2013

So, it’s V Day once again and, as always, I received some of my favourite flowers from hubs. My man is a mushball at heart. He tells me he loves me, all year round, but he submits to the Hallmark holiday every year, no matter how much I protest. Do I cave in and reciprocate? Get my man a gift? A card? Chocolates? No. That would make me a hypocrite. Right?

Image

Since I’m an erotic ROMANCE writer, you would think I’d embrace the day, even cherish it. But I don’t. I just don’t get it. All I see are retailers and florists hiking up their prices by over 200%. Is it only me who notices that the cost of long-stemmed roses suddenly fluctuates thrice in price on the week of February 14?

Image

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a total romantic, and I love when hubs exposes his gooey centre of emotions to me. But the days I cherish most are the ordinary ones where he shows his love right out of the blue, just because he wants to.

Image

And it doesn’t have to be a material gift. It could be an extra long cuddle, whispered words of affection, or even an offering to do some housework because he knows I’ve worked twenty hours straight. Those are my Valentine’s days.

Comments transposed from original blog…

Malia: Awww I’m with you on this one Paige. if you love someone and are in a loving relationship one day of being sweet and lovey dovey does not keep the romance strong and happy. It’s the day to day little things that are the best. Have a great day my friend, loved this blog too! xxx

Paige Thomas: Thank you, darlin’! Love and hugs to you, Malia.

 

Lisafulham298: So true momma bear. I hate the day and the fat cats in suits that own the card shops and florists. I am in love with love and do not need a day to be told I should show it. Me and hubs celebrate our love on our anniversary, that’s our day 🙂

Here is to not conforming to the norm xxx

Paige Thomas: Here, here, baby girl! Sometimes I even think some people see it as a competition. Who can buy the most expensive gifts on Valentine’s to prove their love? Who in the office can brag the most about what they got? I love what you said, but I want to add a bit… “I am in love with love (not wallets) and do not need a day to be told I should show it.”

If the day was really about love, then it would be an international holiday, where everyone gets to stay in bed with their significant other, or snuggle with their kids, or just spend time with their loved ones. No gifts, just hugs and kisses.

 

Robert India: Random acts of love are the sexist, those cheeky gropes at the super market, the naughty whispers in packed lifts, But I still love valentines, its a day for loving cliches, roses, chocolates, perfume and sexy smalls. 

Paige Thomas: I live for those random acts. And even though I don’t agree with the day itself, on the flip side, I also love how excited some men get over it. I just think they should use that same imagination for any other day/s of the year. It’s so much better when it’s a total surprise. Everyone sees Feb 14th coming, so it’s not the same. But maybe that’s just me…and Lisa…and Malia. 🙂

Leave a Reply

