A poem for a friend

Image

I am not a poet. I don’t read much poetry, and quite frankly, I think I suck in that department. But every now and again I am inspired to jot one down.

A poem came to me several weeks ago and I thought it was crap. I almost tossed it away, but I didn’t scrap it completely. I put it in my bible of notes to look at again another day. That day came sooner than I thought it would.

Image

A good friend from across the pond said something which made me take that scrap of paper out of my bible. I scratched out most of what I’d written, but kept the sentiment I’d intended alive. I quickly rewrote–inspired by my friends words–and this is the outcome.

I wasn’t going to post it here–it belongs to someone else now–but I needed to do the friendship justice, so I changed my mind. I’m a woman, after all. I’m allowed to do that.

Image

GOLD
Friends I never knew existed
Popped out of the woodwork
The frame of life
And bored into my heart
Almost as if they were there
From the very start
An encouraging, inspiring word
A show of solidarity
Blind loyalty gleaming bright
With pure untainted friendship
Misplaced faces, mixed races
A melting pot of shits and giggles
Warm hugs span wings
Across the ocean
Envelope my treasures
In a soothing embrace
Distance is neither here nor there
I cherish my friends from everywhere
You’ve touched my heart
Warmed me from within
Given me laughs, a shoulder
An ear, your time
No matter what my future may hold
My dear friend, you are irreplaceable
My dear friend, you are gold
Image
Don’t wait another day to tell those you consider friends just how much they really mean to you.
Comments transposed from original blog…
Rachel Kincaid: Beautiful poem for a beautiful friendship.
Paige Thomas: Thank you, Rachel.
Abbie Foxton: Glad that didn’t make it to the bin…beautiful x You have such a lovespan.
Paige Thomas: Thanks, Abbie. x
Lisafulham298: Momma bear, I am beaming with pride. You are loved, treasured and I adore you more than words could ever express xxxxx
Paige Thomas: Right back atcha, baby girl. Thank you for inspiring me. xxx
Angel Hawk: Who says you suck at poetry? Girl,this is SO beautiful…Love you!
Paige Thomas: I say I suck at poetry! Lol Thanks, Angel. x
8 comments on “A poem for a friend

  1. Yvonne Swislosky says:

    This is very beautiful and love it. So glad you didn’t trash it. Beautiful!!! xxx

  2. Paige Thomas says:

    Thank you, Yvonne. I think poetry is beginning to grow on me…just a little.

  3. I’m glad it’s growing on you! Poetry is an art, and you are the artist, my dear!
    -snuggles- keep creating!

    P

  4. Amanda says:

    What a wonderful display of beautiful words. Poetry from the heart, full of real emotion, inspired by friendship. This kind of poetry is the best, I’d say stick with it because you paint a beautiful picture with your words x

  5. Paige Thomas says:

    Thank you, so much, Amanda. I’m slowly gaining confidence.

  6. Angel Hawk says:

    Reblogged this on this is me💋.

Leave a Reply

