True Heros

Originally posted Friday, February 1, 2013

Who was the first person you ever worshiped? Your first hero? The person whom you looked up to most?

For me, it was my dad. And he still is my hero. I may have grown up–have a family of my own–but, I still idolize my father, in many ways.

He’s very intelligent, inventive, has a quick dry wit, and is extremely talented. What’s not to worship?

Image

Let me take you back, quite a few years. As a young boy, my dad had a dream…to be a great musician. He pretty much taught himself how to play the guitar, then later, attended the Sydney Conservatorium of Music–to learn the proper way. Afterward, at the tender age of seventeen, he joined his first band.

My dad was born to play music. It’s as simple as that. Put a guitar in his hands and he’s a happy man. That happiness shone through, even when I was a toddler. One of the earliest, fondest memories I have, is waking up just after the sun had risen, to watch Australia’s Saturday cartoon show. I turned on the telly and who’s face should appear, but my Pa’s.

Now, he can play anything with strings, and he happened to be playing a banjo during this particular broadcasting–Dueling Banjos, to be exact. Well, I was four, I think, at the time, and I was flabbergastered. Not only was my dad on my favourite show, but he was also still asleep in his bed at the time. My four-year-old brain couldn’t comprehend how he could be in two places at once. I was yet to learn that TV stations often pre-recorded their shows.

My little feet raced through our house, into my parents bedroom. There was my father, asleep, just as I’d expected. I jumped onto his chest and pried his tired eyes open, questioning him as soon as his brain caught up with the fact that his youngest daughter was an inquisitive, yet impatient, soul. It was magic to me. How could he be inside my TV if he was asleep in bed? He was truly a magnificent magician!

As I grew, so did my admiration. My dad was a superstar in my eyes…more famous than Elvis!

Now, I was quite an insistent child. I questioned everything, and more often than not, my father never refused me. I’m not talking about material things, I’m talking about time.

“I’m off to band rehearsals.”

“Can I come?”

“My next gig is…”

“Can I come?”

“I’ve got the night off!”

“Can you take us to Luna Park?” (Oz’s biggest amusement park)

I’ve watched my dad perform on stage since the day I was born, and he will always be my hero. And the biggest lesson he’s ever taught me is to never give up on my dreams, no matter how big they are.

After I married, I found myself in a job I hated. Dad knew. There was no longer that same spark in my eyes, which had always existed up until that point. I was thinking with my responsible, adult head, instead of my heart. I wasn’t where I wanted to be, and he knew it without me saying a word. I later heard from one of my brothers. “Dad thinks your wasting your talents. You should be doing something you love.”

It took me a few years to realise what he meant, exactly, but I eventually caught on. Dad was right! I was unhappy with my job. And I was wasting what talent I had…the talent he had a hand in passing onto me.

One of the proudest moments of my life was telling my parents I’d gotten a publishing contract with an international publisher for my first book. My Ma is always excited, about anything I accomplish, big or small, but dad has often been a little harder to please. In his eyes, his offspring should live up to their greatest potential.

I’m glad I listened. I don’t think I would have even tried to write a book if my father hadn’t lived his dream…to it’s fullest potential.

I love you, Pa.
xxx

Comments transposed from original blog…

Lisafulham298: My heart just swelled a little more for you 🙂 That kind of love, support and encouragement is awe inspiring and something that stays in your heart forever. Next time you talk to Pa, read this to him, let him know xxx

Paige Thomas: We who don’t like to show emotion. That is my pa. I think I’ll send him the link and let him read for himself. My dad’s old school. Men should be strong, and all that. Thanks, baby girl. xxx

Malia: Beautiful Paige. My Dad was my hero too! I miss him everyday, but life with him was a blessing. He passed several years ago but what he taught me was the same as youra. If you have a dream reach for it and grab on for the ride of your life. Much love to you, your wonderful journey as a published author has just begun. Your success will be amazing!! :)) xxxx

Paige Thomas: My eyes are welling uncontrollably. Thank you, Malia, Great dads are the best, aren’t they? I only hope I do mine proud. xxx 

Meri: I can’t find the right words on how touching and beautiful this blog is about you & your dad! There is nothing more valuable then the time and encouragement to follow your dreams from the people we admire. The best way is to learn from the way they live their life. Congratulations on making your dream a reality! You will be a huge success because of your gift/talent and I’m honored to read your first book! Your parents must be extremely proud! XXX

Paige Thomas: Thank you, Meri…for your words, your support and your twitter friendship. xxx

Leave a Reply

