Brought to you by the letter “F”

friends-e1340552290653

Originally posted on Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Today’s program is brought to you by the letter “F”. Get your minds out of the gutter, dear readers, I’m talking about friendship. Friendships made through social media, to be exact!

I am no stranger to computer technology–far from it–but when My Space, Twitter and Facebook exploded onto the web, I avoided them all like the plague. They just didn’t interest me.

Some of my newest friends may find this hard to believe, considering I’ve only really shown my outgoing side while chatting with people online, but I’m an introvert…mostly. Honest! I’ve never been the type of girl who demands to be the center of attention. In fact, if made to stand in the middle of a circle I’ll probably punch you and then despise you forever. I can be the witty, talkative one, but I’m not who you’d call the “life of the party”. I’m more the quiet, introspective creature, maybe the one talking and laughing with just one or two people I feel comfortable with. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not the shy, timid flower who cowers in the corner of the room. But only those who truly know me get to see ALL the layers that make up “me”.

Eventually, I caved and joined Facebook to keep up with friends and family that I don’t get to see as often as I’d like. Then, with my first book getting closer to release, I joined Twitter a few months ago. What am I doing here? I don’t belong. I simply can’t speak to people I don’t know!

So, imagine my surprise when I connected and made some worthwhile online friends within the first few days. Now, several weeks later, I’m happy to report that I’ve become quite fond of many people I’ve met across the globe. One in particular has earned a place in my bread box! What’s a “bread box”, you ask? It’s from an old saying I’ve carried with me since I was about six-years-old. ‘In my little bread box full of friends, I consider you a permanent crumb.’

In honor of my new buddy, author and fellow critique partner, I wrote him a limerick. I’m not a poet, and don’t I know it! So a limerick he shall get.

celtic1

TWITTER ME, IRISH
I didn’t want to follow
He read a total perve
Yet Irish sparked my interest
So I gathered every nerve
He may be fine in body
But that wasn’t why I wrote
There was something quite familiar
When I penned Paddy’s first note
I felt an odd connection
Our funny bones in tune
Not quite a friend, certainly no brother
Though he may be one real soon
Did the universe decide, entwine
Two kindred souls of past?
Was I led by those above
To a kinship that may last?
My life is hubs, my bubs, my world
But, sometimes, friendship’s hard to find
Could Twitter be a techno-God
Linking two like-spirits, like minds?
Comments transposed from original blog…
Robert India: my eyes are welling up, love and gropes from Irish!
Paige Thomas: xoxo
HG: I am very impressed. Multi-talented woman!
Paige Thomas: Multi-anything *winks* is always appreciated! So, the wedding’s still on then? LOL. Thanks for stopping by, HG. Means a lot to me, darlin’. xxxP.S. Your ring’s on it’s way!
Malia: Loved it, think I sent it through twitter not sure. Just wanted you to know.
Paige Thomas: Thank you, Malia! Greatly appreciated. Mwah! xxx
Leave a Reply

